In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links

Categories: Hard Rock


Characteristic vocalist Paul Shortino made his name serving with distinction fronting ROUGH CUTT. The man would also take the lead vocal role with QUIET RIOT for one album. 'Back On Track' is credited to PAUL SHORTINO FEATURING JEFF NORTHRUP. (Northrup being a former KING KOBRA guitarist) The singer pulled favours from the likes of TOTO's BOBBY KIMBALL who duets on 'Forgotten Child' and drummers Carmine Appice of KING KOBRA and VANILLA FUDGE, James Kottak from KINGDOM COME and Glen Hicks. Bass is courtesy of former DAVID LEE ROTH band member Matt Bisonette, Larry Hart, QUIET RIOT's Sean McNabb and DOKKEN / DIO man Jeff Pilson.

The 1997 album, 'It's About Time' issued through the German High Gain label, was recorded in Europe with German musicians and includes a duet with his son Paul Anthony. Shortino's live album 'Booked, Toured, Released' includes reworks of ROUGH CUTT tracks. The 1999 studio album 'Stand Or Fall' finds Shortino indulging in the Blues.

Shortino resurrected ROUGH CUTT in 2000 with former AEROSMITH guitarist Jimmy Crespo. The singer would also add guest lead vocals to the 'Twister' album from Italian guitarist MAX MAGAGNI. Northrup would resurface in 2001 with his J.K. NORTHRUP album. Meantime Shortino himself added a lead vocal track to the bizarrely titled 'Eggman' track by Japanese guitarist JUN SENOUE for the soundtrack to the Sega Dreamcast game 'Sonic Adventure 2'.

Shortino brought back echoes of his past with the 2002 album 'Sacred Place', the record bearing the credit PAUL SHORTINO'S THE CUTT. This album would be dominated by a whole array of guest players. Those with ROUGH CUTT connections included guitarist Jimmy Crespo, bassist Sean McNabb, keyboard player J.T. Garrett and drummer John Homan. Other notable luminaries involved were HEART guitarist Howard Leese, QUIET RIOT's Carlos Cavazo, BRAD GILLIS of NIGHTRANGER and Chuck Wright of HOUSE OF LORDS.

The man also found time to contribute backing vocals to the debut record of EDGE OF TIME, a new band collaboration formed by Italian vocalist Chris Heaven and ex-YNGWIE MALMSTEEN drummer Michael Von Knorring.

It would come as quite a surprise to fans in August to see Paul Shortino back fronting QUIET RIOT for a run of shows. Apparently DuBrow had been injured in a road accident after which he had succumbed to the flu. Not wishing to postpone shows QUIET RIOT pulled in their former comrade to fulfil touring obligations.

Uniting with JK Northrup once again the pairing, together with the XYZ credited keyboard player Nir Averbuch, cut a 2004 album 'Afterlife' billed as SHORTINO/NORTHRUP for MTM Music. That same year the singer made time to front a HEAVEN AND EARTH album 'Screaming For Redemption'. He would also partner with DIO guitarist Craig Goldy on the AC/DC track 'Let There Be Rock' included on the Rufftown Records tribute 'We Salute You' and in November guested on the Italian MOONSTONE project debut album on the track 'Pictures Of My Lonely Days'. The Summer of 2005 saw ROUGH CUTT veterans Paul Shortino and bassist Matt Thorn announcing a brand new band project in union with VICIOUS RUMORS guitarist Ira Black and the YNGWIE MALMSTEEN credited Patrick Johansson on drums. As the group evolved into THE SIDEFX, Thorn would be superseded by WHITESNAKE bassist Uriah Duffy.

The Metal Heaven label released Shortino's 'Chasing My Day' album in June 2009. Produced by Michael Voss, the album included session players Roland Bergmann, of MAD MAX, on bass, plus guitarists Johnny Douglas, of K2, and Ralf Heyne, of DOC HEYNE and BISS.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009