In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links

Categories: Hard Rock


Revealed in March 2006, SUPERNOVA was the brand applied to the all star band unit assembled for the second season of CBS reality TV show 'Rock Star' hosted by DAVE NAVARRO and Brooke Burke. The core band comprised MÖTLEY CRÜE drummer TOMMY LEE, former FLOTSAM AND JETSAM, METALLICA bassist and current ECHOBRAIN and VOIVOD member Jason Newsted on bass and onetime GUNS N' ROSES axeman GILBY CLARKE. The programme makers also signed on BUTCH WALKER to produce the album.

The band ran into legal conflict when it was discovered the SUPERNOVA brand was already in use, the earlier, still active, group having been formed in 1989 in Costa Mesa, California, issuing their debut record, 'Ages Three And Up', through Atlantic Records. The original band filed suit for alleged trademark infringement.

SUPERNOVA announced US dates for January 2007 co-headlining with 'Rock Star' host DAVE NAVARRO's band THE PANIC CHANNEL. Original plans had 'Rock Star' contestants Toby Rand, Dilana Robichaux, Magni, Storm Large, plus the programme's highly rated house band, acting as openers.

On September 12th San Diego Judge John Houston ruled that the band was not legally allowed to use the SUPERNOVA name. That following day Toronto native Lukas Rossi was announced as the winner of the competition to front the band and within hours two newly recorded tracks, 'It's All Love' and 'Be Yourself & 5 Other Cliches', were posted online. The following day Epic Records announced the band was now to be titled ROCK STAR SUPERNOVA.

During October the US tour plans changed, when the opening acts were dismissed, with the slot now being filled by Toby Rand, Dilana Robichaux and Rand's own band JUKE KARTEL as backing outfit. In mid October Jason Newsted was forced out from the touring line-up. The bassist, attempting to catch a falling bass head from his stack, suffered a torn anterior labrum in his left shoulder and a rotator cuff and bicep tear in the right. These injuries required surgery, which put him out of contention. Former BLACK CROWES member Johnny Colt stepped in as the temporary replacement.

An album was scheduled for November 21st release. In what could only be regarded as an enormous disappointment, the album 'Rock Star Supernova' only sold around 17,000 copies in the United States during its first week of release to debut at a lowly number 101 on the Billboard 200 chart. In Canada the record fared much better at number 4.

ROCK STAR SUPERNOVA's live show for their US trek included cover versions of DON HENLEY's 'Boys of Summer', THE VERVE's 'Bittersweet Symphony' and the ROLLING STONES' 'Let's Spend the Night Together'. Australian and New Zealand concerts were announced for March 2007 but these suffered from poor attendances. A new report claimed that Gilby Clarke exited in mid-April as Lukas Rossi announced the band was set to continue under a new name. However, the following day Clarke refuted this claim.

ROCK STAR SUPERNOVA, featuring Tommy Lee, Gilby Clarke, Lukas Rossi and Johnny Colt, reunited for a May 28th 2008 performance at The Greek Theatre in Los Angeles at a benefit concert for the reforestation of Griffith Park, which had been devastated by wildfires. This event was filmed for a televised broadcast. Other guests that performed included SWITCHFOOT, TRAIN with THE DOORS guitarist Robby Krieger, BLUE MAN GROUP with special guest Ziggy Marley, members of VELVET REVOLVER Slash and Duff McKagan with ZZ TOP's Billy Gibbons, BOWLING FOR SOUP with TWISTED SISTER's Dee Snider. 

Lukas Rossi was involved in a fresh band project announced in mid July 2009. INTERVIEW was the name of a new California based band featuring Rossi, erstwhile P.O.D. and THE ACCIDENT EXPERIMENT guitarist Marcos Curiel, ex-CHEVELLE bass player Joe Loeffler, with David Buckner, ex-PAPA ROACH, on drums. INTERVIEW debuted live at The Viper Room in Los Angeles on 17th July.


Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009