In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links



Folk orientated Death Metal act FALCHION debuted with the November 2003 demo 'Glory Of The Sword'. The group had been assembled in May of 2002 by KORPIKLAANI and DEMONIC CREMATION vocalist / guitarist Juho Kauppinen, keyboard player Joonas Simonen and Ville Vehviläinen on drums. Subsequently, bass player Seppo Tiaskorpi enrolled in December and Sami Heinonen joined up in March 2003 as rhythm guitar player. During recording of 'Glory Of The Sword' Vehviläinen was drafted into the military. Unfortunately both Simonen and Heinonen also exited at this juncture.

FALCHION regrouped by enlisting Teemu Peltonen of CRODONIUM as drummer and Jani Laine, of CRODONIUM and DEMONIC CREMATION, as rhythm guitar player in October 2003 to complete the demo sessions. In mid 2004 FALCHION recorded their debut album 'Legacy Of Heathens', being released via the Japanese label World Chaos Productions label, at Studio Watercastle in Jyväskylä with producer with Arttu Sarvanne. September saw Sami Heinonen re-enrolled.

Subsequently the group took on board new drummer Matti Johansson, a veteran of CRYSTALIC, DEPRAVITY, KORPIKLAANI and PSYCHOPATHIC TERROR. Germany's Massacre Records released the album 'Chronicles Of The Dead' in September 2008. This set had been recorded and mixed at Adamantium Studios in Tampere in March 2008 with producer Jukka Ruostila before being mastered by Mika Jussila at Finnvox Studios, Helsinki.

KORPIKLAANI, BATTLELORE, KIVIMETSÄN DRUIDI and FALCHION all teamed up for the "Finnish Fire" tour in November and December 2008. 

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009